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Situation 

A regatta is held over two days, with five races scheduled and one drop race if five races are 
completed. On the first day, only Race 1 is completed and Boat A finishes in second place. 
 
On the second day, Boat A finishes fifth in Race 2. Before the start of Race 3, A collides with B and 
is unable to compete in all the remaining races due to the damage. She protests B and requests 
redress. The protest committee finds that A is entitled to redress under rule 62.1(b). 
 
The protest committee awards A average points according to A10(b) for races 3 and 4. A scores 
DNC in Race 5, but discards that score and is placed first in the total score. Therefore, A wins the 
regatta, having competed in only two out of five races.  
 

Question 1 

Did the protest committee make an error? 
 

Answer 1 

Yes. Although the protest committee did not break any rule, its decision in awarding the redress 
was not the fairest arrangement for all boats affected. In this case, allowing a boat to use average 
scores for half of the counting races in the series is not fair to the other boats.  
 

Question 2 

What would have been a more fair redress decision? 
 

Answer 2 

The protest committee should ensure that out of the counting races in a boat’s series score, the 
majority of scores are based on finishing positions in completed races.  Different situations may 
require different redress to be granted.  One possible suggestion in this particular case is that the 
protest committee could have awarded redress only for the race where the collision took place.  


